Developmental Education at CUNY

Strong foundations in reading, writing, and mathematics are essential for college success. New college students are often fully prepared for rigorous learning experiences, but some benefit from additional preparation. Developmental education (sometimes called remediation) is one way students can reinforce their basic skills. Across CUNY, there are many forms of developmental education including short workshops and semester-length classes. They are offered at many times throughout the year, and some of the programs are low- or no-cost. Developmental education is a key to making progress toward earning a degree.

University Skills Immersion Programs (USIP)

Immersion programs provide students with opportunities to complete developmental education through intensive workshops and courses. While most of the USIP programs are offered before the fall semester starts, they are also offered between or during semesters. Since 1985, CUNY immersion programs have been offered tuition free to students who need additional preparation in reading, writing, and mathematics. The Office of Undergraduate Studies convenes the coordinators of CUNY’s developmental immersion programs to share expertise, resources, and best practices across the colleges. We are expanding evidence-based practice, evaluating our interventions, and reviewing CUNY’s policies concerning immersion and other developmental programs.

Baruch College

Michele Doney, Director, Student Academic Consulting Center and Immersion Programs
Phone: 646-312-4833
Email: Michele.doney@baruch.cuny.edu

College of Staten Island

Linda Sharib, Academic Program Director
Phone: 718-982-3966
Email: Linda.Sharib@csi.cuny.edu

Chrisanthi Anastopoulou, Associate Director, Immersion Programs
Phone: 718-982-4074
Email: Chrisanthi.Anastopoulou@csi.cuny.edu

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Kate Szur, Senior Director of Student Academic Success Program
Phone: 212-237-8041
Email: kszur@jjay.cuny.edu

Daniel Auld, Director of Student Learning and Academic Support Services
Phone: 212-237-8915
Email: dauld@jjay.cuny.edu

Wynne Ferdinand, Associate Director of First Year Program
Phone: 646-557-4868
Email: wferdinand@jjay.cuny.edu

New York City College of Technology

Lauri Aguirre, First Year Programs Director
Phone: 718-260-5967
Email: Laguirre@citytech.cuny.edu

Queens College

Howard Kleinmann, Director, Academic Support Center
Phone: 718-997-5670
Email: Howard.Kleinmann@qc.cuny.edu

York College

Les Raphael, Director of Academic Skills / School Outreach
Phone: 718-262-2899
Email: lraphael@york.cuny.edu

Nawrin Fariha, Immersion Coordinator
Phone: 718-262-2320
Email: nfariha901@york.cuny.edu

Bronx Community College

Sahidha Odige, Academic Support Service Manager
Phone: 718-289-5698
Email: Sahidha.Odige@bcc.cuny.edu

Bernard Gantt, Dean of Student Services
Email: Bernard.Gantt@bcc.cuny.edu

Borough of Manhattan Community College

Barbara Lawrence, Immersion Program Coordinator
Phone: 212-220-1349
Email: Blawrence@bmcc.cuny.edu

Janice Zummo, Asst. Dean for Academic Support Services
Phone: 212-776-6256
Email: jzummo@bmcc.cuny.edu

Kingsborough Community College

Maria Scordaras, Director of Immersion Program
Phone: 718-368-5358
Email: Maria.Scordaras@kbcc.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Community College

Daryl Davis, Director of First Year Program
Phone: 718-482-5395
Email: dardavis@lagcc.cuny.edu

Resources and Reports