The Pathways Task Force will create the 30-credit Common Core by establishing required credits and learning outcomes in broad disciplinary/interdisciplinary areas. The Task Force’s Steering Committee will initiate and direct the process and will be advised by a larger Working Committee with broad representation from CUNY’s Colleges.

The Steering Committee is composed of the following distinguished individuals:

Chair: Michelle Anderson, Dean, CUNY School of Law


  • Paul Attewell, Distinguished Professor of Sociology, Graduate Center
  • Michael Barnhart, Professor of Philosophy, Kingsborough Community College
  • Laird Bergad, Distinguished Professor of Latin American and Caribbean History, Lehman College, and Executive Director of the Center for Latin American, Caribbean and Latino Studies, Graduate Center
  • Theodore Brown, Professor of Computer Science, Queens College, and Executive Officer, Doctoral Program in Computer Science, Graduate Center
  • Katherine Conway, Associate Professor and Deputy Chairperson of Business Management, Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Edward Grossman, Professor of Mathematics, City College of New York
  • Mona Hadler, Professor of Art, Brooklyn College
  • Orlando Hernandez, Professor of Modern Languages, Hostos Community College
  • Patricia Mathews-Salazar, Professor of Anthropology and Director of the Center for Ethnic Studies, Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Elizabeth Nunez, Distinguished Professor of English, Hunter College
  • Neal Phillip, Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Chemistry Technology, Bronx Community College
  • William Fritz, Provost, College of Staten Island
  • Anne Lopes, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, John Jay College
  • Elizabeth Beck, student, LaGuardia Community College
  • Steven Rodriguez, student, City College of New York