Updated June 21, 2018

According to the resolution passed by the Board of Trustees of The City University of New York on June 27, 2011, the University Office of Academic Affairs, working with the colleges, “will facilitate the expeditious review and approval of all courses proposed for the Common Core with the assistance of a CUNY-wide committee, appointed by the Chancellor.” To that end, the CUNY Common Core Course Review Committee was established in March 2012.

This committee, consisting entirely of faculty, reviews courses submitted by the colleges to insure that they meet the designated learning outcomes for their Common Core curricular areas. In its current format, the committee is divided into two subcommittees, each of which has its own chair. Listed below are committee members for 2018-2020.



Subcommittee on Mathematical and Quantitative Reasoning, Life and Physical Sciences,
Scientific World, and Individual and Society

Vicki Flaris, Bronx Community College, Chair
Henry Africk, New York City College of Technology
Sean Ahearn, Hunter College
Sophia Barrett, City College of New York
Christopher Blaszczak-Boxe, Medgar Evers College
Helene Eisenman, Baruch College
Maria Entezari, LaGuardia Community College
Azriel Genack, Queens College
Jeffrey Jankowski, Queensborough Community College
Nazrul Khandaker, York College
Desmond Barry McKernan, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Joan Mosely, School of Professional Studies
Anna Rozenboym, Kingsborough Community College
Linda Scheetz, Lehman College
Anya Spector, Guttman Community College
Dante Tawfeeq, John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Julie Trachman, Hostos Community College
Sarah Zelikovitz, College of Staten Island

Subcommittee on English Composition, Creative Expression, World Cultures and Global Issues, and U.S. Experience in Its Diversity

Michael Barnhart, Kingsborough Community College, Chair
Stephanie Boyle, New York City College of Technology
Sebastien Buttet, Guttman Community College
Bettina Carbonell, John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Beth Counihan, Queensborough Community College
Maria DeLongoria, Medgar Evers College
Jacqueline DiSanto, Hostos Community College
Maryann Feola, College of Staten Island
Aaron Freundschuh, Queens College
Eric Gander, Baruch College
Wendy Hayden, Hunter College
Eda Henao, School of Professional Studies
Gloria McNamara, Borough of Manhattan Community College
Janet Michello, LaGuardia Community College
Kathleen Potts, City College of New York
Anne Rice, Lehman College
Zohra Saad, York College
Ben Yarmolinsky, Bronx Community College