Chancellor's Award recipient \Frank Hwang, LaGuardia Community College

Matthew Goldstein, Chancellor Emeritus of the City University of New York (and trained mathematician), established this prestigious award to recognize faculty who have implemented an outstanding instructional method for teaching undergraduate mathematics at CUNY. These instructional techniques must be shown to positively impact student learning and to have the potential to be used with many students.

Chancellor’s Award

The award, on behalf of the Office of the Chancellor, is administered through CUNY’s Central Office of Academic Affairs. Full-time and part-time faculty at CUNY community colleges, comprehensive colleges, and senior colleges are eligible to apply.  Awards in the amount of $5,000 are based on evidence demonstrating that the faculty member’s students improved their skills in math as a result of a particular successful technique or action. Materials submitted by candidates include evidence of excellent instructional methods, as measured by improvements in student learning, within at least the past year. Eligible courses for the award are developmental or credit-bearing mathematics courses up to and including the first year of calculus.

Nominations, submitted to CUNY’s Central Office of Academic Affairs, are reviewed by a panel consisting both of Office of Academic Affairs staff and CUNY mathematics faculty. The committee makes recommendations to the Chancellery who then makes the final selections. Awardees are expected to participate in demonstrations or other dissemination events in order to communicate their successful techniques to others.

*Awardees should discuss with their accountants issues concerning the possible taxability of these funds.


2012 – 2013, Fourth Annual Chancellor’s Award

  • Sandie Han, New York City College of Technology

2011 – 2012, Third Annual Chancellor’s Award

  • Sandra Clarkson and William H. (Bill) Williams, Hunter College

2010 – 2011, Second Annual Chancellor’s Award

  • Peter Gregory, Baruch College
  • G. Michael Guy, Queensborough Community College
  • Janet Liou-Mark, New York City College of Technology
  • Leonard Presby, Queens College

2009 – 2010, First Annual Chancellor’s Award

  • Thomas Mormino, College of Staten Island
  • Frank Wang, La Guardia Community College
  • Walter Wang, Baruch College