Other Legal Resources

Student and Scholar Resources

  • NAFSA: Travel Advisory for Nationals of Certain Countries Pursuant to Executive Order
  • IIE: Emergency Assistance for Scholars and Students

Organizations to Watch

The following organizations are actively working to protect rights and support immigrants. Visit these websites regularly for new information and guidance:

Capitol dome and house chambers

CUNY Legal Resources

CUNY Citizenship Now

CUNY Citizenship Now! provides free, high quality, and confidential immigration law services. Our attorneys and paralegals offer one-on-one consultations to assess participants’ eligibility for legal benefits and assist them in applying when qualified.

  • CUNY students, faculty and staff from the seven countries (Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen) affected by the Executive Order with questions about their immigration status and/or travel abroad plans should write to Citizenship Now! at citizenshipnowinfo@cuny.edu.
  • Travel Advisory: For students, faculty and staff in the US from the seven affected countries, our best advice remains not to travel abroad until we have more clarity about ongoing developments in the wake of the Executive Order. CN! plans a Facebook Live session and a Facebook page for students to share information and get their questions answered.

Clear

The CLEAR (Creating Law Enforcement Accountability & Responsibility) project, housed at CUNY School of Law, primarily aims to address the unmet legal needs of Muslim, Arab, South Asian, and other communities in the New York City area that are particularly affected by national security and counter-terrorism policies and practices.

Campus-based Resources

 

College Contact Email
Baruch Rosa Kelley rosa.kelley@baruch.cuny.edu
BMCC Lily Yi-Elkin lyielkin@bmcc.cuny.edu
Bronx CC Esteban Rodriguez esteban.rodriguez@bcc.cuny.edu
Brooklyn Keisha Simon keishasimon@brooklyn.cuny.edu
CCNY Maribel Morua mmorua@ccny.cuny.edu
CSI Barbara Clark barbara.clark@csi.cuny.edu
CUNY School of Law Sheeja Pillai pillai@law.cuny.edu
Graduate Center and Journalism Linda Asaro lasaro@gc.cuny,edu
Hostos CC Lisanka Soto lsoto@hostos.cuny.edu
Hunter Iris Aroyewun-Birchwood iaroyewu@hunter.cuny.edu
Hunter Barbara Medina (J-1 scholars only) bmedina@hunter.cuny.edu
Hunter IELI Sean Lee sle0114@hunter.cuny.edu
John Jay Inga Mezale imezale@jjay.cuny.edu
KCC Gavin Ireland gavin.ireland@kbcc.cuny.edu
LaGuardia CC Pressian Nicolov pnicolov@lagcc.cuny.edu
LaGuardia ELI Yvette Alphonsus alphonsy@lagcc.cuny.edu
Lehman Phyllis.Proctor phyllis.proctor@lehman.cuny.edu
Medgar Evers Joylyn Phillip-Ndiaye jphillips@mec.cuny.edu
NYCCT Vanessa Villanueva vvillanueva@citytech.cuny.edu
Queens Patrick O’Connell patrick.oconnell@qc.cuny.edu
Queens ELI Erika Guadalupe erika.guadalupe@qc.cuny.edu
QCC Lompeto Efthymiou lefthymiou@qcc.cuny.edu
SPH Pranoya Gosh Pranoya.Ghosh@sph.cuny.edu
SPS Jennifer Lee Jennifer.lee@cuny.edu
York Michelle Sabio msabio@york.cuny.edu

IMMIGRATION RESOURCES

For background information on legal challenges:

American Immigration Council’s Practice Advisory, Challenging President Trump’s Ban on Entry.

For the latest information:

The White House website lists of presidential actions

Citizenship Now! on Facebook
@CUNYCitizenship
@CUNY_CLEAR

RESOURCES FOR DETAINED IMMIGRANTS

  • New York State has established a confidential toll-free hotline for New Yorkers to report family members, relatives, friends or colleagues believed to be passengers on flights coming into the state, but are missing or believed to be detained: 1-888-769-7243.
  • CUNY students, faculty or staff who are detained at the airport, or are abroad and need guidance, please contact CUNY Citizenship Now! attorney Isabel Bucaram, Esq. by text, phone or WhatsApp at 646-860-5678.
  • Citizenship Now! on Facebook