Daniel McCloskey
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor and University Vice Provost for Research
(646) 664-8910
daniel.mccloskey@cuny.edu

Dan McCloskey is the Interim Associate Vice Chancellor and University Vice Provost for Research at the City University of New York.  As CUNY’s top research executive, Dr. McCloskey focuses on supporting and promoting University research, scholarship, and entrepreneurial activities; reinforcing University research infrastructure; and enhancing the recruitment and retention of world-class University scholars across many disciplines. Dr. McCloskey and the Research Office are committed to ensuring that the CUNY research endeavor is safe, ethical, collaborative, innovative, and accessible to students at all academic levels. This is achieved by protecting the University’s intellectual property portfolio; developing partnerships with other universities and research institutions; fostering relationships with industry, governmental, and non-governmental funding sources; and enhancing CUNY’s contribution to the economic development of New York City and New York State.

Dr. McCloskey is a tenured Professor in the Department of Psychology at the College of Staten Island where he oversees research compliance programs and research accessibility programs Read More

for both undergraduate and graduate students. At the CUNY Graduate Center, Dr. McCloskey has served as Chair of the Neuroscience PhD program since 2013, and serves on the executive committees for the Biology and Psychology PhD programs.

Dr. McCloskey’s research—assisted by high school, undergraduate, Master’s and PhD students—combines biological, computational, and social sciences research to measure brain adaptations required for social living. He has published over 30 peer-reviewed articles in the field of Behavioral Neuroscience in topics spanning from molecular mechanisms underlying neuronal synchrony to computational approaches for measuring large-scale social behavior. His work has been highlighted by a number of news organizations and is the focus of an upcoming documentary. He has received external support for his research from private foundations as well as a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation. In 2015, Dr. McCloskey received the Presidential Early Career Award from President Obama for work that “will transform the field of social neuroscience by providing a comprehensive approach towards understanding the role of neuropeptides in complex behavioral systems.”

Dr. McCloskey received his BS in Psychology from SUNY College at Oswego and his PhD in Integrative Neuroscience from Stony Brook University. He completed his postdoctoral training as a Milken Family Foundation Fellow at Columbia University/ Helen Hayes Hospital before joining CUNY as a faculty member in 2007.

CUNY OFFICE OF RESEARCH

Avrom Caplan, Ph.D.
Associate University Dean for Research
(646) 664-8904
avrom.caplan@cuny.edu

Effie MacLachlan, Ph.D.
Director of Grants & Research Programs
(646) 664-8908
effie.maclachlan@cuny.edu

Eric Vieira, Ph.D.
Director of Special Research Programs
(646) 664-8903
eric.vieira@cuny.edu

Derek Steele, Ph.D.
Budget Analyst & Project Coordinator
(646) 664-8916
derek.steele@cuny.edu

Ron Nerio, Ph.D.
Research Associate
(646) 664-8914
ron.nerio@cuny.edu

Sharon Forde
Administrative Executive Assistant
(646) 664-8907
sharon.forde@cuny.edu

Sharon Maynard
Principal Administrative Associate
(646) 664-8920
sharon.maynard@cuny.edu

Rimi Dhar
Programs Administrator
(646) 664-8917
rimi.dhar@cuny.edu

Shanté Booker
Communications Specialist
(646) 664-2873
shante.booker@cuny.edu

RESEARCH COMPLIANCE

Farida Lada
Associate University Provost for Research Administration & Compliance
(646) 664-8909
farida.lada@cuny.edu

Pauline Gonen-Smith
Director, Sponsored Research and Programs Compliance
(646) 664-8915
pauline.gonen-smith@cuny.edu

Arita Winter-Potter
Research Compliance Manager
(646) 664-8919
arita.winter@cuny.edu

Michael Brown
Senior Research Compliance Administrator
(646) 664-8906
michael.brown@cuny.edu

Syed Zaidi
Research Compliance Education and Quality Improvement Specialist
(646) 664-8911
syed.zaidi@cuny.edu

Ingrid Moore
Research Compliance Analyst
(646) 664-8918
ingrid.moore@cuny.edu

INNOVATION & ENTREPRENEURSHIP

John Blaho, Ph.D.
Director, Industrial-Academic Research
(646) 664-3446
john.blaho@cuny.edu

Doug Adams
Director
(646) 664-3443
douglas.adams@cuny.edu

Zeev Dagan, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Entrepreneurial Research Initiatives
(646) 664-8948
zeev.dagan@cuny.edu

Philip Loew
Associate Director, NYC Regional Innovation Node
(646) 664-3448
philip.loew@cuny.edu

Neeti Mitra
Senior Manager, Industrial Liaison and Licensing
(646) 664-3445
neeti.mitra@mail.cuny.edu

Astrid Sylvester
Coordinating Manager, CUNY iHub
(646) 664-8942
astrid.sylvester@cuny.edu

Jessica Fields
Project Manager, NYC Regional Innovation Node
(646) 664-3435
jessica.fields@cuny.edu

Martin Lee
Office Manager
646 664-3447
martin.lee@cuny.edu