Hauber_Wordpress Mark E. Hauber, PhD, DSc
Interim University Vice Provost for Research
(646) 664-8910
mark.hauber@cuny.edu

Mark E. Hauber is the Interim Vice Provost for Research at The City University of New York. As CUNY’s top research executive, Dr. Hauber focuses on supporting faculty research, scholarship, and entrepreneurial activities; obtaining funding for facilities and instrumentation; and recruiting distinguished faculty across many disciplines. Dr. Hauber and the Research Office are also committed to enhancing and expanding student involvement in authentic, hands-on research across all academic levels. In addition, Dr. Hauber has overall responsibility for growing the University’s intellectual property portfolio; developing partnerships with other universities and research institutions; fostering relationships with industry, governmental, and non-governmental funding Read More

sources; and enhancing CUNY’s contribution to the economic development of New York City and New York State.

Dr. Hauber most recently served as Associate Provost for Research at Hunter College, where he was also Director of the endowed Animal Behavior and Conservation Program, and a tenured Professor in the Department of Psychology. While at Hunter, he oversaw the opening of Hunter’s research floor at the Belfer Building, in a unique public-private collaboration with Weill Cornell Medical College. Previously, he served as Program Head for the Biopsychology and Behavioral Neuroscience, Animal Behavior and Comparative Psychology, and Ecology and Evolutionary Biology doctoral programs at CUNY’s Graduate Center.

Dr. Hauber is a world-renowned behavioral ecologist and ornithologist, a fellow of the American Ornithologists’ Union, and editor-in-chief of its journal, The Auk: Ornithological Advances. His research focuses on the recognition systems of avian brood parasites, including the processes of phenotypic, chemical, and cognitive coevolutionary arms races. He has published over 220 peer-reviewed articles, including those in Science, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, and Current Biology, and his research productivity was featured in a highlight article by Nature: “Publish like a Pro” in 2010. He is also the author of the 2014 “The Book of Eggs”, published by the University of Chicago Press, and his work has been featured repeatedly in The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Audubon Magazine and on National Public Radio. Dr. Hauber’s studies have been funded by governmental and international research agencies, including two cycles of Young Investigator Awards from the Human Frontier Science Program while at CUNY, and a current grant on the neurogenomic adaptations of parasitic birds from the National Science Foundation. He served as the B.F. Skinner Lecturer at the 2016 Conference of the Association of Behavior Analysis International.

Dr. Hauber is a native of Hungary, a citizen of New Zealand, and a graduate of Yale (BS summa cum laude in Organismal Biology) and Cornell (PhD in Neurobiology Behavior) Universities. He completed his postdoctoral training as a Miller Research Fellow at UC Berkeley in Integrative Biology and Psychology. He was a faculty member in Biological Sciences at the University of Auckland for five years before joining the faculty of Hunter College, CUNY, in 2009. Dr. Hauber obtained two additional degrees from New Zealand, including a DSc in Biological Sciences from the University of Auckland, and while at CUNY, an MSc in Psychology with Distinction, from Victoria University of Wellington. You can follow his research on Twitter @cowbirdlab.

For updates about the CUNY Research Office’s activities, follow us on Twitter @CUNYResearch.

CUNY OFFICE OF RESEARCH

Avrom Caplan, Ph.D.
Associate University Dean for Research
(646) 664-8904
avrom.caplan@cuny.edu

Derek Steele, Ph.D.
Budget Analyst & Project Coordinator
(646) 664-8916
derek.steele@cuny.edu

Sharon Maynard
Principal Administrative Associate
(646) 664-8920
sharon.maynard@cuny.edu

Effie MacLachlan, Ph.D.
Director of Grants & Research Programs
(646) 664-8908
effie.maclachlan@cuny.edu

Ron Nerio, Ph.D.
Research Associate
(646) 664-8914
ron.nerio@cuny.edu

Rimi Dhar
Programs Administrator
(646) 664-8917
Rimi.Dhar@cuny.edu

Eric Vieira, Ph.D.
Director of Special Research Programs
(646) 664-8903
eric.vieira@cuny.edu

Heather Gibbs
Chief of Staff
(646) 664-8907
heather.gibbs@cuny.edu

Shanté Booker
Communications Assistant
(646) 664-2873
shante.booker@cuny.edu

RESEARCH COMPLIANCE

Farida Lada
Associate University Provost for Research Administration & Compliance
(646) 664-8909
farida.lada@cuny.edu

Arita Winter-Potter
Research Compliance Administrator
(646) 664-8919
arita.winter@cuny.edu

Pauline Gonen-Smith
Sponsored Research Compliance Administrator
(646) 664-8915
pauline.gonen-smith@cuny.edu

Faith Forgione
Human Research Protection Program Coordinator
(646) 664-8912
faith.forgione@cuny.edu

Raju Tamot
Research Compliance Administrator
(646) 664-8906
raju.tamot@cuny.edu

INNOVATION & ENTREPRENEURSHIP

John Blaho, Ph.D.
Director, Industrial-Academic Research
(646) 664-3446
john.blaho@cuny.edu

Philip Loew
Associate Director, NYC Regional Innovation Node
(646) 664-3448
philip.loew@cuny.edu

Jessica Fields
Project Manager, NYC Regional Innovation Node
(646) 664-3435
jessica.fields@cuny.edu

Doug Adams
Director
(646) 664-3443
douglas.adams@cuny.edu

Neeti Mitra
Senior Manager, Industrial Liaison and Licensing
(646) 664-3445
neeti.mitra@mail.cuny.edu

Marceline Dickson
Office Manager, Industrial Liaison and Licensing
(646) 664-3447
neeti.mitra@mail.cuny.edu

Zeev Dagan, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Entrepreneurial Research Initiatives
(646) 664-8948
zeev.dagan@cuny.edu

Astrid Sylvester
Coordinating Manager, CUNY iHub
(646) 664-8942
astrid.sylvester@cuny.edu