Student presenter Joyce Tam, New York City College of Technology (City Tech) speaking at the CUNY Research Scholars Symposium held at John Jay College

The CUNY Research Scholars Program provides funded laboratory experiences for Associate degree students over a one-year period. The goal of the program is to encourage undergraduate participation in authentic research and to increase persistence in STEM disciplines. Students receive 400 hours of mentoring from faculty members and participate in programming offered at their campuses, including sessions on laboratory safety, public speaking and poster preparation.

Each year, the program culminates in a summer symposium where students display and present their work to peers and mentors. Selected students from each college also give oral presentations to the audience. Dr. Rein Ulijn, Founding Director of The Nanoscience Initiative at the CUNY Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC), delivered the keynote speech for the 2016 CRSP symposium. Drs. Jayne Raper and Kevin Gardner were the keynote speakers for the July 2017 symposium.

Here’s a glimpse of the 2017 symposium!

Find a CRSP Director At Your College

Bronx Community College, Gould Memorial Library

Bronx Community College

Ms. Katherine Acevedo-Coppa
katherine.acevedo-coppa@bcc.cuny.edu

Borough of Manhattan Community College

Borough of Manhattan Community College

Dr. Alona Bach
hbach@bmcc.cuny.edu
Website: http://bit.ly/2ryqxK0

College of Staten Island walkway

College of Staten Island

Ms. Maria Ivanova
maria.ivanova@csi.cuny.edu

Guttman Community College entrance

Guttman Community College

Dr. Chulsung Kim
chulsung.kim@guttman.cuny.edu
Website: http://bit.ly/2r01GM6

Hostos Community College

Hostos Community College

Dr. Felix Cardona
fcardona@hostos.cuny.edu

Kingsborough Community College

Kingsborough Community College

Dr. Deborah Berhanu
deborah.berhanu@kbcc.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Commnunity College

LaGuardia Community College

Dr. Allyson Sheffield
asheffield@lagcc.cuny.edu

Medgar Evers College

Medger Evers College

Dr. Mohsin Patwary
mohsin@mec.cuny.edu

New York City College of Technology

New York City College of Technology

Dr. Hamid Norouzi
hnorouzi@citytech.cuny.edu
Website: http://bit.ly/2sPPDS8

Queensborough Community College library

Queensborough Community College

Dr. Sharon Lall-Ramnarine
slallramnarine@qcc.cuny.edu 
Website: http://bit.ly/2qUu6HC