The CUNY Research Scholars Program provides funded laboratory experiences for Associate degree students over a one-year period. The goal of the program is to encourage undergraduate participation in authentic research and to increase persistence in STEM disciplines. Students receive 400 hours of mentoring from faculty members and participate in programming offered at their campuses, including sessions on laboratory safety, public speaking and poster preparation.

Each year, the program culminates in a summer symposium where students display and present their work to peers and mentors. Selected students also give oral presentations to the audience. Dr. Rein Ulijn, Founding Director of The Nanoscience Initiative at the CUNY Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC), delivered the keynote speaker for the 2016 CRSP symposium. In 2015, the keynote address was given by Dr. Charles Vörösmarty, Director of Environmental Science at the ASRC.

CRSP Contact Information at Your College

Bronx Community College
Ms. Katherine Acevedo-Coppa
Katherine.acevedo-coppa@bcc.cuny.edu

Borough of Manhattan Community College
Dr. Alona Bach
hbach@bmcc.cuny.edu See More Schools

College of Staten Island
Dr. Caitlyn Nichols
Caitlyn.nichols@csi.cuny.edu

Guttman Community College
Dr. Chulsung Kim
Chulsung.kim@guttman.cuny.edu

Hostos Community College
Dr. Felix Cardona
fcardona@hostos.cuny.edu

Kingsborough Community College
Dr. Stanley Bazile
Stanley.bazile@kbcc.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Community College
Dr. Allyson Sheffield
asheffield@lagcc.cuny.edu

Medger Evers College
Dr. Mohsin Patwary
mohsin@mec.cuny.edu

New York City College of Technology
Dr. Hamid Norouzi
hnorouzi@citytech.cuny.edu

Queensborough Community College
Dr. Sharon Lall-Ramnarine
slallramnarine@qcc.cuny.edu