The CUNY Research Scholars Program provides funded laboratory experiences for Associate degree students over a one-year period. The goal of the program is to encourage undergraduate participation in authentic research and to increase persistence in STEM disciplines. Students receive 400 hours of mentoring from faculty members and participate in programming offered at their campuses, including sessions on laboratory safety, public speaking and poster preparation.

Each year, the program culminates in a summer symposium where students display and present their work to peers and mentors. Selected students from each college also give oral presentations to the audience. Dr. Rein Ulijn, Founding Director of The Nanoscience Initiative at the CUNY Advanced Science Research Center (ASRC), delivered the keynote speech for the 2016 CRSP symposium. Drs. Jayne Raper and Kevin Gardner will be the keynote speakers for the July 2017 symposium.

Register Now!

The 2017 CRSP symposium will be held on Tuesday July 25 at John Jay College.

CRSP Directors & Contact Information

Bronx Community College
Ms. Katherine Acevedo-Coppa
katherine.acevedo-coppa@bcc.cuny.edu

Borough of Manhattan Community College
Dr. Alona Bach
hbach@bmcc.cuny.edu
Website: http://bit.ly/2ryqxK0

College of Staten Island
Ms. Maria Ivanova
maria.ivanova@csi.cuny.edu

Guttman Community College
Dr. Chulsung Kim
chulsung.kim@guttman.cuny.edu
Website: http://bit.ly/2r01GM6

Hostos Community College
Dr. Felix Cardona
fcardona@hostos.cuny.edu

Kingsborough Community College
Dr. Deborah Berhanu
deborah.berhanu@kbcc.cuny.edu

LaGuardia Community College
Dr. Allyson Sheffield
asheffield@lagcc.cuny.edu

Medger Evers College
Dr. Mohsin Patwary
mohsin@mec.cuny.edu

New York City College of Technology
Dr. Hamid Norouzi
hnorouzi@citytech.cuny.edu
Website: http://bit.ly/2sPPDS8

Queensborough Community College
Dr. Sharon Lall-Ramnarine
slallramnarine@qcc.cuny.edu 
Website: http://bit.ly/2qUu6HC